[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[eu_members at aclweb dot org] China: Coling 2010 Workshop on South and Southeast Asian Natural Language Processing -- 2nd Call for Demos


Second Call for Demo Submission

COLING Workshop 2010

Workshop on South and Southeast Asian Natural Language Processing (WSSANLP)


Endorsed by Asian Language Resources Committee (ALRC), Asian Federation of NLP (AFNLP)

28 August, Beijing, China

Submission deadline: May 30, 2010



The main motive behind the organization of South and Southeast Asian Natural Languages Processing (SSANLP) workshop is to bring together the community working on the South and Southeast Asian languages covering all aspects of natural language processing and computational linguistics such as development of computational resources, morphology, syntax, semantics and machine translation. This is a long term commitment and goal, which cannot be achieved through a single workshop. Hence, we are planning to make this workshop an annual or biennial event collocated with one of the major ACL conferences and focusing on certain specific NLP issues. The current workshop focuses on the phenomena of rich Morphology of South and South East Asian languages and the complex segmentation in these languages.


The topics of interest for SSANLP workshop include (but not limited to) the following related to the morphology and segmentation of South and Southeast Asian languages:

Author Instructions

Authors are invited to submit demo papers of their substantial, original, novel, completed and new research work relevant to the topics of the workshop. Please submit a four pages description plus additional pages for references of your demo discussing briefly the working and the architecture of the system, the uniqueness and innovative aspect of the system, and its comparison with related systems in the area.

All submissions must follow and conform to the official COLING 2010 Style guidelines to be announced on the conference website www.coling-2010.org

Reviewing of papers will be double-blind. Therefore, the paper must not include the authors' names and affiliations. Furthermore, self-references that reveal the author's identity, e.g., "We previously showed (Smith, 1991) ...", must be avoided. Instead, citations such as "Smith (1991) previously showed ...", must be used. Papers that do not conform to these requirements will be rejected without review.

Dual submission policy: If you have submitted or plan to submit your paper in other venues, then you must indicate this fact during submission to SSANLP. Note that if your paper is accepted in SSANLP then you must withdraw the same paper from other venues in order to get it published in the proceedings of SSANLP.

Important Dates

Paper submission:                           May 30, 2010

Notification of acceptance:          June 30, 2010

Camera ready paper due:            July 7, 2010

Workshop:                                          August 28, 2010


ssanlp2010 at sanlp dot org

Workshop Chair

Aravind K. Joshi

Program Committee

Ranaivo-Malançon Bali                  Multimedia University, Malaysia

Sivaji Bandyopadhyay                    Jadavpur University, India

Vincent Berment                             GETALP-LIG / INALCO, France

Laurent Besacier                              GETALP-LIG, Université de Grenoble, France

Pushpak Bhattacharyya                 IIT Bombay, India

Christian Boitet                                 GETALP-LIG, Université de Grenoble, France

Nicola Cancedda                               Xerox Research Center Europe, France

Eric Castelli                                          International Research Center MICA, Vietnam

Luong Chi Mai                                    Institute of IT, Vietnamese Academy of Science and Technology, Vietnam

Laurence Danlos                               University Paris 7, France

Georges Fafiotte                              GETALP-LIG, GETALP-LIG, Université de Grenoble, France

Pascale Fung                                      Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong

John A. Goldsmith                           University of Chicago, USA

Gérard Huet                                       INRIA, France

San San Hnin Tun                             Cornell University, USA

Sarmad Hussain                                National University, Pakistan

Abid Khan                                           University of Peshawar, Pakistan

Mumit Khan                                       BRAC University, Bangladesh

Wunna Ko Ko                                     Northern Illinois University, USA

Bal Krishna Bal                                   University of Kathmandu, Nepal

A. Kumaran                                        Microsoft Research, India

Gurpreet Singh Lehel                     Punjabi University Patiala, India

Haizhou Li                                            Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore

Christian Monson                            OHSU, USA

Annie Montaut                                 INALCO, Paris, France

Sackona Phoeurng                          Institute of Technology, Cambodia

Hammam Riza                                   Agency for the Assessment and Application of Technology (BPPT) – Indonesia

Rajeev Sangal                                    IIIT Hyderabad, India

Anne Schiller                                      Xerox Research Center Europe, France

L. Sobha                                               AU-KBC Research Centre, Chennai, India

Chan Somnoble                                Royal University of Phnom Penh, Cambodia

Virach Sornlertlamvanich              TCL, National Institute of Information and Communication Technology, Thailand

Ruvan Weerasinghe                       University of Colombo School of Computing, Sri Lanka

Khaver Zia                                           Beacon House National University, Pakistan

Chair of Organizing Committee

M. G. Abbas Malik           email: Abbas dot Malik at imag dot fr

Organizing Committee

Aasim Ali                              CRULP, National University, Pakistan.    

Asif Ekbal                             University of Heidelberg, Germany.       

Dulip Herath                       School of Computing, University of Colombo, Sri Lanka.

Hong-Thai Nguyen          GETALP-LIG, Université de Grenoble (Ex : Université Joseph Fourier), France.   

M. G. Abbas Malik           GETALP-LIG, Université de Grenoble (Ex : Université Joseph Fourier), France.   

M. Humayoun                   Université de Savoie, France.    

Menaka Sankaralingam Anna University, India.

Monojit Choudhury        Microsoft Research, India.          

Sadaf Abdul Rauf             Université du Maine, France.    

Smriti Singh                        IITB, India.




M G Abbas Malik
Lecturer and PhD Student
Université de Grenoble (ex. Université Joseph Fourier),
Groupe d'Etude pour la Traduction Automatique et le Traitement Automatisé des Langues et de la Parole (GETALP)
Laboratoire d'Informatique de Grenoble (LIG) / Grenoble Informatics Laboratory

GETALP, LIG-Campus, BP53
385 Rue de la Bibliothèque,
38041 Grenoble Cedex 9, France
Off:      +33 (0)4 76 51 43 79
Mob:    +33 (0)6 18 37 00 06
e-mail: abbas.malik at
imag.fr abbas.malik at gmail.com